Security Research

INASC – Improving needs assessment and victim’s support in domestic violence related criminal proceedings


Project Management: Dr. Birgitt Haller
Implementation: Mag. Dr. Helga Amesberger
Dr. Birgitt Haller
Funded by: European Commission/ DG Criminal Justice via
   CESIS – Centro De Estudos Para A Internvenção Social, Lissabon
Partners: DHPol – Deutsche Hochschule der Polizei (DE)
Safe Ireland (IE)
Verwey-Jonker Instituut (NL)
Zoom – Gesellschaft für prospektive Entwicklungen e.V. (DE)
Completed: March 2016
Website: http://www.inasc.org/

The INASC project aims to improve our existing understanding of victims’ experiences of trajectories of DV cases in the course of criminal proceedings against perpetrators, and studies how these experiences relate to individual assessment mechanisms and outcomes. The comparative study focused on the main characteristics of victim support measures as well as on elements that influence victim support and protection on three different levels: i) at the entrance door (police officers receiving complaints and following up with criminal procedures); ii) at the inquiry stage (public prosecution); iii) in court (court procedures and final decisions).

The project’s methodological approach consisted of file analysis (in Austria: 70 files of the public prosecution office in Vienna and a small number of court files) as well as interviews and focus group discussions with representatives of the police, the legal system and victim protection organisations. In addition, ten victims of intimate partner violence were interviewed.

An Austria-specific output of the project is the practice-oriented guide Opferschutz umsetzen! Bedarfsorientierte Unterstützung der Opfer von Partnergewalt durch Polizei und Justiz (Victim protection now! Needs-based support of victims of intimate partner violence by the police and the legal system) for police officers, public prosecutors and judges, which aims to enhance the national implementation of the EU Victims Directive 2012/29. An annex provides a checklist for public prosecutors and judges in order to support their risk assessment concerning victims of violence.

Sicherheitsforschung

Gewaltforschung

INASC – Verbesserte Unterstützung der Opfer von Partnergewalt durch Polizei und Justiz


Projektleitung: Dr.in Birgitt Haller
Durchführung:    Mag.a Dr.in Helga Amesberger
Dr.in Birgitt Haller
Finanzierung:    Europäische Kommission/ DG Criminal Justice über
   CESIS – Centro De Estudos Para A Internvenção Social, Lissabon
Fertigstellung:   März 2016
PartnerInnen: DHPol – Deutsche Hochschule der Polizei (DE)
Safe Ireland (IE)
Verwey-Jonker Instituut (NL)
Zoom – Gesellschaft für prospektive Entwicklungen e.V. (DE)
Webseite: http://www.inasc.org/
  
 Downloads: The protection of IPV victims: legal framework and criminal procedures – Austria

Rights and needs of victims of intimate partner violence in criminal proceedings in Austria

Broschüre "Opferschutz umsetzen!"

IPV victims’ needs and rights: a brief overview across five EU countries’ justice systems

Dealing with IPV in five European countries – treatment of cases and victims by the criminal justice system,
procedures of protection and support



Ziel des Projekts INASC – Improving needs assessment and victim’s support in domestic violence related criminal proceedings war es, mehr über die Situation von Opfern von Partnergewalt in Zusammenhang mit der strafrechtlichen Verfolgung des Täters in Erfahrung zu bringen und besser zu verstehen, wie das Handeln von Polizei und Justiz von ihnen erlebt wird. Untersucht wurden in einem Ländervergleich die wesentlichen Merkmale der Unterstützungsangebote für Opfer von Partnergewalt sowie die Faktoren, die Einfluss darauf haben, wie Opfer auf drei verschiedenen Ebenen unterstützt und geschützt werden, nämlich i) zu Beginn der Strafverfolgung (Anzeigeaufnahme durch die Polizei, Weiterleitung an die Staatsanwaltschaft); ii) während der Ermittlungsphase (Staatsanwaltschaft); iii) bei Gericht (Gerichtsverfahren und Verfahrensausgang).

Der methodische Zugang erfolgte über die Analyse von Akten (in Österreich: 70 Tagebücher der Staatsanwaltschaft Wien bzw. Gerichtsakten) sowie Interviews und Fokusgruppen mit VertreterInnen von Justiz und Exekutive sowie von Gewaltschutzeinrichtungen. Ergänzend wurden zehn Gewaltopfer zu ihren Erfahrungen befragt.

Österreich-spezifischer Output des Projekts ist die praxisorientierte Broschüre Opferschutz umsetzen! Bedarfsorientierte Unterstützung der Opfer von Partnergewalt durch Polizei und Justiz, die zur nationalen Umsetzung der sogenannten Opferschutzrichtlinie (Richtlinie 2012/29/EU über die Mindeststandards für die Rechte, die Unterstützung und den Schutz von Opfern von Straftaten) beitragen soll. Die Broschüre versteht sich in erster Linie als ein Unterstützungsangebot für Polizei, StaatsanwältInnen und RichterInnen. Im Anhang findet sich daher eine Checkliste, die StaatsanwältInnen und RichterInnen bei der Einschätzung von Sicherheitsrisiken für Gewaltopfer unterstützen soll.