Security Research

Protection against Partner Violence in the Republic of Moldova



Project Management  
and implementation:   Dr. Birgitt Haller
Financed by:   OSCE
Concluded in:   December 2013

Birgitt Haller was invited by the OSCE as an international expert to evaluate Moldova′s protection measures against domestic violence. The so-called Law 45, which had come into force in September 2008, is oriented along the Austrian anti-violence legislation: both by having introduced a judicial interim injunction and by the currently discussed instrument of a barring order by the police. The evaluation is based on 29 expert interviews: with representatives of victim protection agencies (mostly NGOs), of law enforcement, and of relevant ministries.

Moldova faces the same problems as Austria at the end of the 1990ies: reluctance of the police to carry out interim injunctions imposed by the courts, misogyny in the police force and at court, ignorance about violent relationships, lack of understanding that living without violence is a human right and that therefore also violence in intimate relationships needs to be punished.

Moreover, women′s shelters in Moldova only have two thirds of the number of beds the Council of Europe considers necessary, and, as after-care can only rarely be offered (not least because of the lack of affordable social housing), most women return to the perpetrators after a few months. The women′s situation is worsened by the extremely high unemployment rate in Moldova (more than forty per cent), but there are a few institutions that support the economic empowerment of their clients, for example by financing vocational training. As may be expected, these women separate from their violent partners more often.

In the north of Moldova, a center for perpetrators that offers anti-violence trainings has been established. But no clients are referred to the center; and trainees who come there voluntarily stay away after a few training units.

Although the government of Moldova is highly committed in fighting domestic violence, and although several international organizations support and finance necessary measures, a lot of efforts are still required.

Sicherheitsforschung

Gewaltforschung

Schutz vor Partnergewalt in der Republik Moldau



Durchführung:    Dr.in Birgitt Haller
Finanzierung:    OSZE
Fertigstellung:    Dezember 2013

Im Rahmen einer Beauftragung als internationale Expertin erfolgte eine Evaluierung von Maßnahmen zum Schutz vor Gewalt in der Familie. Deren Kernstück ist das Gesetz zum Schutz vor und zur Bekämpfung von familiärer Gewalt ("Law 45"), das im September 2008 in Kraft trat und sich teilweise – nämlich hinsichtlich der Möglichkeit gerichtlicher Gewaltschutz-EVs – am österreichischen Gewaltschutzgesetz orientiert. Aktuell wird zudem die Einführung eines polizeilichen Betretungsverbotes diskutiert. Im Zuge der Erhebung wurden 29 ExpertInnen interviewt: sowohl VertreterInnen von Einrichtungen, die im Bereich Gewaltschutz tätig sind (insbesondere NGOs), als auch von Polizei und Justiz sowie BeamtInnen aus relevanten Ministerien.

Moldawien ist mit denselben Problemen konfrontiert wie Österreich Ende der 1990er Jahre: Widerstand in der Polizei gegen die Einstweilige Verfügung, die sie vollziehen müssen, Frauenfeindlichkeit in Polizei und Justiz, fehlendes Wissen über Gewaltbeziehungen, fehlendes Verständnis dafür, dass das Recht auf ein Leben ohne Gewalt ein Menschenrecht ist und daher auch Gewalt im Privaten sanktioniert werden muss.

Darüber hinaus liegt das Platzangebot in Frauenhäusern um rund ein Drittel unter den Vorgaben des Europarats, und da es kaum Nachbetreuungsangebote (auch wegen des Fehlens von leistbaren Sozialwohnungen) gibt, kehren die meisten Frauen nach einigen Monaten zum Gewalttäter zurück. Erschwert wird ihre Situation durch die sehr hohe Arbeitslosigkeit im Land (mehr als vierzig Prozent), einzelne Einrichtungen können ihren Klientinnen aber "economic empowerment" z.B. durch die Finanzierung von Kursbesuchen anbieten, diese Frauen trennen sich offenkundig häufig von ihrem Partner.

Im Norden von Moldawien wurde ein Zentrum für Gewalttäter eingerichtet, das im Rahmen eines Modellversuches Anti-Gewalt-Trainings anbietet – was aber schon daran scheitert, dass der Einrichtungen keine Klienten zugewiesen werden und freiwillige Trainingsteilnehmer schon nach kurzer Zeit wegbleiben.

Obwohl sich die Regierung im Bereich Gewaltschutz sehr engagiert und zahlreiche internationale Organisationen entsprechende Maßnahmen finanzieren bzw. unterstützen, sind noch viele Anstrengungen notwendig.